Sunday, January 18, 2004

I just want to say that Stanislav Medvedenko has been a beast this year coming off the bench for the injured Karl Malone. I don't think he is getting enough press! He's upped his scoring output, rebounding output, and assist ouptut this year. His scoring average has risen from 4.4 to 10.3 in a single year! Give this man some love!!!!

Tuesday, January 13, 2004

Rocketpack - Humor and creative writing magazine Fun Stuff. Out of the norm fun stuff....
Now this is what sports reporters should be about. A little background first: the Lakers played the Cavaliers last night. The Lakers pulled out a victory. I notice an article on the internet entitled 'Lame Lakers Limp past Cavs'. Lame because Kobe got hurt leaving us with only one of our big four on the floor. It's also important to notice that the article was written for the Akron Beacon Journal. So I read the article and it seemed to me to be putting Lebron in a light that wasn't necessarily the case being as I saw the entire game. So after reading the article and the stats that LeBron was attributed, I shot the following email off to the author of the article:

I just read you Lame Lakers Limp article. I noticed you didn't mention LeBron's six turnovers since you mentioned his seven assists???


Now I'll be the first to admit that I was looking to pick a fight, well maybe not a fight but a heated argument with this sportswriter just because I find most sportswriters to be Sports Republicans. But I was dead wrong. First, he actually responded to the email which surprised me beyond comprehension. There have been so many times where I have sent an email to an address on the internet trying to start a discussion and this is only the second time I have ever had a response. Secondly, though, his response was not at all what I expected:



Xavier,

I agree it was a lame article. I filed it 37 seconds
after the game ended due to time zone and deadline
issues. I also didn't mention that he went 0-5 from
the field in the fourth quarter or that the team shot
25 percent as well.

I appreciate your thoroughness.

B******** W***********
Akron Beacon Journal



I am keeping his name confidential since he didn't exactly agree to me posting this email. But I thought was exceptionally cool of him to respond and to be so non-defensive. Kudos to B%#@%@# W@%@#%@^.
Gateway - USC vs. LSU - WHY NOT? Let the NCAA know how you feel people!
The thing with Brett is last week's loft for luck isn't the first time. He does it often, way too often. Yeah, he has a gun but he also has an issue because he's a veteran who still makes youthful mistakes. Why? Because when he gets lucky and one of this mistaken throws ends up inthe hands of his receivers, the media glorifies and gives him a scrotum scrub. When it doesn't, they conveniently forget that it ever happened.

Monday, January 12, 2004

I actually found a website (on your right) that has the VT Hokies ranked in their 2004 preseason rankings. I can't believe it myself!! Imagine if the Hokies beat USC in the first game of the year. Oh I get excited at the thought!!
I know Chaka is gonna have something to say about my Brett rants....I's just awaitin to see what comes out her mouth ;)
The Patriots are the WORSE team to ever finish the season with the best record in the league. They have yet to have a dominating performance against any team. They scrape by game in and game out. Now some folks say that this is being a great clutch team. That's a crock of bowel movement product!!! If you're not playing one of the top teams in the league, you shouldn't need to be a clutch team. Being a clutch team against what is supposed to be an inferior opponent means one thing....you're not getting it done during the rest of the game. Plain and simple.

In the same strain of thought, being a great comeback artist ie Brett Favre, simply means his performance prior to the last minute comeback was less than optimal. Granted he doesn't play defense so he can't be held accountable for opponent's scoring. But he can be accountable for having to scorer in the last minute of a game. Strangely enough, I see very few mentions of his dead duck throw in yesterday's overtime period. But when Matt Hasselbeck throws a pick last week you knew about it. But it the beloved Brett Favre! Heaven forbid we remind you of his drug addiction. Heaven Forbid we mention his tendency to throw the ball up for grabs and hope his receivers make him look good. Heaven forbid we say something to a man who has a broken thumb, fumbles something like seven times in two games but has a humongous games started streak (sometimes your ego should take a back seat to the teams' needs).

Okay I'm done......for now
Big 12 College Football - Fanblogs.com: Steve Spurrier: Where will he land? The most interesting thing about this particular dialogue is the commenting afterwards in relation to Texas and their stadium....yes, the conversation turns heated over stadium capacity and plans.
Joe Gibbs is with the Redskins because he is supposed to be with the Redskins. It is natural. Like Tom Landry coaching the Cowboys. Like chewing tobacco at a NASCAR race. It is supposed to be. Now why the Falcons didn't jump on Dennis Green I don't know. But Joe Gibbs is where is supposed to be.

A better question is how long will Martz be allowed to ruin the Rams? I'm not a big Rams fan in the least but his playoff decision this past weekend could quite possibly be the definition of NO NUTS! How do you sacrifice a whole season with that much time left in the game and you're in the red zone. If you don't trust your quarterback then you play the one you do trust. You cannot simultaneously stand behind your quarterback and have no faith in him. Pick one!
GREAT! Now we can watch the playoffs without listening to announcers give Brett Favre a quickie every other friggin play. I am so enthused that he is out of the playoffs. Even more excited that it was his horrible throw that led the way to Packers exit. Sometimes there is justice in sports!!!